IBC and IBA celebrate with End of Season Dinner

Last weekend saw Ipswich Basketball Club host its annual End of Season Dinner and Awards Night at Ipswich Hotel Copdock.

Around 300 guests were in attendance to see junior and senior players awarded trophies for Most Valuable Player, Most Improved Player and Coaches’ Player of the Year for their respective team.

The headline players’ awards went to Colin Dockrell, Men’s MVP in his sixth season with the club, and Harriet Welham, who added Women’s MVP to her Division II, Playoffs and National Cup Final awards.

Welham also won the Kathryn James Award for female club member of the year, and was praised by club head coach Nick Drane for demonstrating leadership among the club’s younger members.

The male equivalent award, the Tomcat of the Year, went to Lewis Barker, who combined his playing duties for the Academy with stepping up as Assistant Coach for the Under-18s, including taking the reins for several games.

Ipswich Basketball Academy graduates Jonny Hall, Ashleigh Pink and Maya Price also scooped awards, as each prepares to head for the next step in their educational and sporting endeavours. Hall and Pink are headed for scholarships in Colorado and Florida respectively.

There were also awards for junior internationals Esther Little, Ella Pearson, Cameron Taylor-Willis and Ben Winter.

Senior Men’s Assistant Coach Rob Schatten was awarded the Bernard Ball Club Person of the Year award, recognised for his work with the club’s online presence and in fundraising as well as on-court work.

“As a club, we are extremely proud of how we run this event,” said Club Chairman, Simon Drane. “All members of the club are involved, not to mention coaches, volunteers, former players, supporters and parents.

“It’s a brilliant atmosphere and the highlight of the club’s social calendar.”

The club’s attention now turns to the trials for junior teams on May 26th at Copleston, with other fundraisers taking place throughout the summer. To get involved or to support IBC at events, go to www.ipswichbasketball.net.

The winners in full

Under-12 Boys: Most Valuable Player: Charlie Drane; Most Improved Player: Matthew Liddamore; Coaches’ Player of the Year: Harry Laws

Under-12 Girls: MVP: Hannah Gray; MIP: Kellsie Thornton; CPY: Lauren Liddamore.

Under-14 Boys: MVP: Idriss Lebbie; MIP: Isaac Holland; CPY: Riley Clarkson.

Under-14 Girls: MVP: Alicia Boddy; MIP: Dallya Calver; CPY: Millie Pearson.

Under-16 Boys: MVP: Ethan Price; MIP: Danny Manning; CPY: Jacob Morgan.

Under-16 Girls: MVP: Esther Little; MIP: Abbie Yorke; CPY: Ella Pearson.

Under-18 Men: MVP: Ben Winter; MIP: Louis Gibson; CPY: Blake Read.

Ipswich Basketball Academy Women: MVP: Ashleigh Pink; MIP: Cameron Taylor-Willis; CPY: Maya Price.

IBA Men: MVP: Jonny Hall; MIP: Thomas Payne; CPY: Ben Winter.

Senior Women: MVP: Harriet Welham; MIP: Esther Little; CPY: Ashleigh Pink.

Senior Men: MVP: Colin Dockrell; MIP: Ben Winter; CPY: Cameron Hawes

Tomcat of the Year: Lewis Barker.

Kathryn James Award: Harriet Welham.

Bernard Ball Award: Rob Schatten.